Skip to the content

Jan Kjærstad

Fartein Rudjord

Jan Kjærstad (b 1953, Norway) is an author resident in Oslo.

A graduate in theology, he had his literary debut in 1980 with the short-story collection Kloden dreier stille rundt and has since published 15 novels, several picture books, and essay collections. His latest novel, En tid for å leve, appeared in 2021.

Kjærstad has won many prizes, including the Critics’ in 1984, the Aschehoug in 1993, and the Dobloug in 2000. He received the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2002 for Oppdageren, the final volume in his Jonas Wergeland trilogy.

Share Content